Tag: guert affenlight

Cover image via Goodreads. Log In. He gives Henry his plane ticket to the game and dies in his apartment that evening. At times, this device reveals deeper psychological issues, as when Owen quotes Whitman: Owen Dunne, Henry's gay roommate and teammate, becomes caught up in a dangerous affair.

It also transcends baseball You are commenting using your WordPress. After publishing a well-received book and spending many years as a professor at Harvard , Affenlight returns to his alma mater as president of the college. I give it a full 5 out of 5 stars. The most enjoyable aspect of The Art of Fielding is the true-to-life humanity Harbach's characters are infused with. Scott Rudin was attached as executive producer, with Harbach to serve as a consulting producer.

The mentor-student relationship between Schwartz and Henry also comes to the forefront, as each examines their hopes for the future and the extent to which it rests on their baseball ability. There's just something so easy and riveting about the way this book's layers unfold; not since Lonesome Dove have I been so sorry to let a group of characters go. Ask A Librarian.

So mostly I post TAoF quotes and meta, and some Harbach interviews, while trying to convince the Tumblr world to embrace this book as tightly as I have. It is a baseball novel the way Bang the Drum Slowly is a baseball novel--it is about much, much more.

To my mind, that pervasive lightness is one of the novel's virtues Although physically short and not muscular, Henry has an unusual gift for fielding, and excels at the demanding position of shortstop. Did you notice the statue of Herman Melville outside? Harbach writes with a tender, egoless virtuosity Then the unthinkable happened.

They timed it to September, when the fall semester is beginning, and students are heading back to their own Westish campuses.

But there's also much more here to interest readers of the contemporary literary novel, a genre that's clearly a preoccupation of Harbach's Email required Address never made public. After all, the book opens from his point of view: The Art of Fielding has often been referred to as a baseball novel, but I think it is more truly a campus comedy, as much in the tradition of Lucky Jim and Straight Man as it is of The Natural We wait for their next time on the mound—or their next book or movie.

Description At Westish College, a small school on the shore of Lake Michigan, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for big league stardom. Sorry, your blog cannot share posts by email.

The art of fielding a novel / Mesa County Libraries

Published Reviews. Since then, no one seems to know where the book world is going. Guert tries to help make Westish a greener place to impress Owen. Get post updates on Facebook. Share this: David Biddle is a contributing writer at Talking Writing. Because he just makes a bad throw, which is the kind of thing that happens to even professional shortstops a heck of a lot more than it happens to Henry. Chad Harbach is a good writer.